Project Description

A globally operating customer in the field of defence contracted us to develop new software that could be used to standardise the user interface for Windows laptops used for customer service.

The problem with the laptops previously used by the department was their software from third-party providers, the installation and administration of which was complex and time-consuming. Additional problems also occurred in the case of version and update management. The option of running different applications at the same time could not be secured and/or prevented and there was no universal and overall user and permission management.

We were assigned the task of developing an “out-of-the-box” kiosk application that would act as a central platform across all systems and guarantee guided installation (instructions, input assistance, progress indicators, …), automated updates, tests (e.g. with regard to versions, compatibility and system requirements), seamless integration, user-specific approval and easy use of all relevant software tools from third-party providers.

The software needed to work as an add-on to the operating system and launch automatically. All relevant functions had to be encapsulated so that users were unable to access the operating system, which would in turn become obsolete. The application was also required to be internationalised, multitenant and able to be operated by touch.

The company ITCS was assigned the task of analysing the feasibility of the desired functions (especially the encapsulation from the operating system) and developing a concept for this application. After developing the concept, ICTS planned the implementation of the application together with the customer, provided the project manager and dealt with the development of the software based on the SCRUM framework and using state-of-the-art technologies.

Projekt Beschreibung

Für einen international tätigen Kunden aus dem Bereich Verteidigung sollte eine neue Software zur Vereinheitlichung der Benutzeroberfläche für im Kundendienst eingesetzte Windows-Notebooks entwickelt werden. Das Problem der zuvor eingesetzten Notebooks waren die aufwändige Installation und Administration von Drittanbieter-Software. Es traten Probleme beim Versions- und Updatemanagement auf. Die parallele Lauffähigkeit von verschiedenen Anwendungen konnte nicht sichergestellt bzw. verhindert werden. Es existierte keine einheitliche und übergreifende Benutzer- und Rechteverwaltung.

Es sollte eine „Out-of-the-Box“-Kioskanwendung entwickelt werden, die als systemübergreifende und zentrale Plattform die geführte Installation (Handlungsanweisungen, Eingabehilfen, Fortschrittsanzeigen, …), automatisierte Aktualisierung (Updates), Prüfung (z.B. auf Version, Kompatibilität, Systemvoraussetzungen), nahtlose Integration, anwenderspezifische Freigabe und einfache Nutzung aller relevanten Drittanbieter-Softwaretools sicherstellt.

Die Software sollte als Betriebssystemaufsatz funktionieren und automatisch starten. Alle relevanten Funktionalitäten sollten gekapselt werden, so dass der Eingriff in das Betriebssystem für den Anwender verhindert und obsolet wird. Die Anwendung sollte darüber hinaus internationalisiert, mandantenfähig und per Touch-Eingabe zu bedienen sein.

Die Firma ITCS wurde damit beauftragt die Machbarkeit der gewünschten Funktionalitäten (insbesondere der Abkapselung vom Betriebssystem) zu analysieren und die Konzeptionierung dieser Anwendung durchzuführen. Nach der Konzeptphase wurde die Umsetzung der Anwendung durch die Firma ITCS gemeinsam mit dem Kunden geplant und der Projektleiter gestellt. Die Softwareentwicklungsarbeiten wurden in Zusammenarbeit mit einem Partnerunternehmen durchgeführt.