Project Description

An internationally operating system house in the field of fingerprint recognition contracted us to develop an easy-to-use software suite for the registration, comparison and management of biometric data used to implement a residents’ registration system.

The first stage of this project required software that was able to register residents based on their fingerprints, documents (e.g. registration form and birth certificate) and a photograph that needed to be taken for the purpose. This software needed to be able to record the data offline on mobile devices and import them into the central system at a later point in time. After the data were imported into the central system, the software was required to run the automatic process of fingerprint recognition and fingerprint comparison in order to identify possible duplicates and thus potential misuse. In the case of an abnormality, the results of this comparison needed to be visualised and confirmed using a confirmation procedure based on the dual-control principle using another application. The next stage of the project required the identification card to be printed and passed on to the quality control department after successful registration. The quality control team also required software that would enable it to check the physical card against the system. After this stage, the cards could be personally handed over by a member of staff, who could use a final software product to yet again analyse the resident’s fingerprint on location and confirm their identity before issuing them their correct card.

The company ITCS was contracted to implement elements of the software suite. ICTS also provided the project manager and dealt with the development of the software based on the SCRUM framework and using state-of-the-art technologies in cooperation with the customer’s software developers. After the software had been implemented, the site acceptance test was conducted by ITCS in Zambia, Africa, and the staff of the end customer were trained to use the applications.

Projekt Beschreibung

Für ein international tätiges Systemhaus im Bereich der Fingerabdruckerkennung sollte eine einfach zu bedienende Software-Suite zur Registrierung, zum Abgleich und zur Verwaltung von biometrischen Daten als Mittel zur Realisierung eines Einwohnermeldesystems erstellt werden.

In einem ersten Schritt wurde eine Software benötigt, die die Einwohner an Hand von Fingerabdrücken, Dokumenten (z.B. Anmeldeformular, Geburtsurkunde) und eines aufzunehmenden Fotos registrieren konnte. Diese Software sollte die Daten auf mobilen Geräten Offline aufnehmen und später in das Zentralsystem importieren können. Nach dem Import der Daten in das Zentralsystem sollte der automatische Prozess der Fingerabdruckerkennung und des Fingerabdruckvergleichs ausgeführt werden, um mögliche Dubletten und damit potenziellen Missbrauch zu identifizieren. Die Ergebnisse dieses Vergleichs sollten bei einer Auffälligkeit durch ein Bestätigungsverfahren auf Basis eines Vier-Augen-Prinzips mittels einer weiteren Anwendung visualisiert und realisiert werden. In einem nächsten Schritt sollte nach der erfolgreichen Registrierung eine Personalausweiskarte gedruckt und der Qualitätskontrolle übergeben werden. Die Qualitätskontrolle sollte ebenfalls durch eine Software unterstützt werden, mittels derer die physikalische Karte mit dem System verglichen werden konnte. Nach diesem Schritt erfolgte die persönliche Auslieferung der Karten durch einen Mitarbeiter, der mit einem letzten Softwareprodukt vor Ort nochmals den Fingerabdruck des Einwohners zur Bestätigung und Übergabe der korrekten Karte verifizieren konnte.

Die Firma ITCS wurde mit der Umsetzung von Teilen der Software-Suite beauftragt. Darüber hinaus wurde der Projektleiter gestellt und die Softwareentwicklung nach SCRUM in Zusammenarbeit mit Softwareentwicklern des Kunden auf Basis modernster Technologien durchgeführt. Nach der Umset-zung der Software wurde der Site Acceptance Test beim Endkunden in Sambia, Afrika durch die Firma ITCS durchgeführt und die Mitarbeiter des Endkunden in den Anwendungen geschult.