Outsourcing is the contracting out of a company’s value-adding activities to supplier companies. Outsourcing represents the shortening of the value chain and/or the reduction of the company’s depth of performance. By contracting qualified and specialised sub-suppliers for components and services, companies are often able to reduce their production, development and overhead service costs. By concentrating on their core activities, companies can make the most of cost benefits and improve their own operational and strategic market position.

Gabler Wirtschaftslexikon

Decision

Like all complicated issues, outsourcing involves both advantages and disadvantages. There is no perfect general solution that always leads to success. Instead, you need to weigh up all the advantages and disadvantages within the context of your organisation and your needs and requirements on the basis of each individual project. It is far too often the case that outsourcing is considered to be the same as offshoring. Offshoring, however, is just one specific type of outsourcing. Outsourcing extends over a much wider range of activities and covers every task or service performed by third parties for an organisation. If an organisation decides to contract a project manager to oversee the running of a project, for example, this position is “outsourced”.

Make or buy?

As is also the case when deciding whether to “make or buy”, one of the key questions involved in the decision to outsource is whether it is better for a company to use its own resources to execute projects or to use external resources instead. Companies can only answer this question by identifying their own individual advantages and disadvantages and factoring these into the decision-making process.

Advantages

Outsourcing generally offers you the following advantages:

  • ‘Visible’ costs: Payments made to external service providers are always more visible and easier to post to specific projects than those that are buried deep in operational budgets.
  • You only pay for what you need: Given that outsourcing is normally based on specific agreements, you only pay for what you really need. The usual benefits for permanent employees (training, holiday and sick leave, etc.) do not apply.
  • Access to experts and specialists: For some organisations, outsourcing is the only affordable way to access experts and specialists in certain subject areas. Being able to only use the expertise required when it is really needed can be an extremely economical solution, even if the hourly rates charged by these experts initially seem to be exorbitant compared to the pay rates of your own staff.
  • Better accountability: The expectation and requirement that external service provides will take responsibility for the implementation of a project is often much more substantial than can be demanded from internal staff. Being able to contractually bind a provider to achieve a certain level of performance has a number of major benefits, especially in periods close to deadlines.
  • Flexible staff numbers: Using outsourcing enables you to increase or decrease the number of staff provided for the task in question according to requirements and without having to worry about lay-offs, employment contracts and similar issues. A contractual relationship with external service providers can be extremely profitable, especially in the case of urgent and short-term projects.

Positive side effects

Alongside the hard facts, outsourcing development or project management responsibilities always involves the following positive side effects:

  • Perseverance: When working on projects, external service providers put a great deal of effort into remaining focused and completing the work assigned to them in such a manner that they are not only paid for their work but also receive a good reference.
  • Openness: External service providers are generally more committed to identifying opportunities and problems, which internal members of staff tend to avoid addressing for political reasons. External service providers focus on their obligation to complete the work assigned to them by their client and have a vested interest in supporting their client to the best of their ability.
  • New ideas and a wide range of experience: External service providers have normally worked in different sectors and environments. They can use the experience gained in these different areas in your project and provide new ideas to help to advance projects that companies may have been working on for so long that they are now blind to the problems and opportunities they entail.
  • Cost effectiveness and productivity: The fact that external service providers are paid for successfully completing the project that they were contracted to complete means that they tend to remain concentrated and focus on the essential aspects of the work assigned to them. As a result, they do not waste their time and effort on tasks that do not help to advance your project.

Transfer of knowledge

Companies that commission the services of external service providers should also consider how this affects the transfer of knowledge. The fact that their projects are not executed by their permanent employees may result in a loss of important knowledge the moment the project is concluded and the external service providers leave the company. It is important that the findings, techniques, architectures, etc. Obtained and acquired during a project remain at your company after the project has been completed because they may also be important following the end of the project lifecycle.

Decision-making process

You should be sure to consider the following three questions when working out whether to decide in favour of or against outsourcing:

  • Does your organisation have the required staff with the right skills needed to complete the project? If this is not the case, you need to make the essential decision as to whether you would rather employ an additional member of staff for the project or outsource the project.
  • Does the market currently provide you with easy and sufficient access to trained candidates who could be employed in a permanent position specifically for the completion of your project?
  • Does the necessary recruitment process for permanent employees (publishing a job advertisement, evaluating profiles, conducting interviews and complying with periods of notice) give you enough time to start the project on schedule?
  • Does your organisation have the financial resources required to employ more full-time staff? Although assigning the project to a third party may seem like an expensive option in the short term, it may actually cost less than having more full-time staff on your payroll in the long run. This is particularly the case when you consider the overall costs of permanent staff (basic salary, income tax, health insurance, holiday and sickness leave and other benefits) throughout the entire duration of their employment. Although you initially pay more for an external service provider, this expenditure stops the moment the project is completed.
  • Does your organisation have a portfolio of projects that justifies a commitment to employing full-time staff? If your organisation is not one of the largest in its field, the chances are that you only have a few projects. Furthermore, it is most probably the case that your new projects can be most efficiently executed by staff with specific expertise in the area concerned. Contracting service providers that offer special expertise for specific projects may be a more efficient solution when it comes to ensuring that you always have the right individuals for your relevant projects without having to maintain an employee base of all-rounders.

Tips for successful outsourcing

Here are some tips that you should bear in mind when you decide to outsource a project:

  • Work together with the service provider to develop the “statement of work”. This should be a joint effort to ensure that both parties fully understand which tasks need to be completed, how they should be carried out, the protocols that need to be followed, the time frame for completion and so on.
  • Record your expectations in writing. Do not assume that the external service provider already knows your corporate culture, work ethic and code of conduct. Stipulate where the work should be carried out, working hours (where applicable), rules for the use of your hardware and facilities, etc.
  • Request project documentation. Specify what type of project documentation should be produced and maintained throughout the course of the entire project. This can include work schedules, regular meetings, progress reports, change logs, etc.
  • Consider providing incentives for early completion of the project. If you offer an external service provider the prospect of receiving a bonus for completing the project ahead of schedule, you encourage both concentration and commitment. Such incentives are typically based on the increased value or savings achieved by the organisation as a result of quicker completion of the project by the provider. Be sure to quantify the criteria for being granted such a bonus in your agreement. You should also ensure that the incentive offered is lucrative enough that the provider actually wants to be granted it. Do not base your bonus on an all-or-nothing concept but instead weight it according to what has been achieved. A bonus of 10% of the savings made by your company is typically a good incentive. A bonus for the early performance of services can also be based on an additional ROI achieved for your company.

Conclusion

When it comes to outsourcing, there are both advantages and disadvantages. The decision as to whether or not you should use outsourcing is not always an easy one to make. Outsourcing can without a doubt be a profitable option when done correctly. A cautious approach, the right preparation and continuous checking are the cornerstones of your outsourcing success.

Verlagerung von Wertschöpfungsaktivitäten des Unternehmens auf Zulieferer. Outsourcing stellt eine Verkürzung der Wertschöpfungskette bzw. der Leistungstiefe des Unternehmens dar. Durch die Inanspruchnahme qualifizierter, spezialisierter Vorlieferanten für Komponenten und Dienstleistungen werden die Produktions-, Entwicklungs-, aber auch Dienstleistungsgemeinkosten des Unternehmens häufig reduziert. Durch Konzentration auf die Kernaktivitäten werden Kostenvorteile realisiert und die eigene operative und eigene strategische Marktposition verbessert.

Gabler Wirtschaftslexikon

Entscheidung

Wie alle komplizierten Fragen, hat Outsourcing Vor-und Nachteile. Es gibt keinen allgemeingültigen, richtigen Weg. Je nach Projekt müssen alle Vor- und Nachteile im Kontext Ihrer Organisation und Ihrer Bedürfnisse gegeneinander abgewogen werden. Allzu oft wird Outsourcing mit Offshoring gleichgesetzt. Dies ist jedoch nur eine bestimmte Art von Outsourcing. Outsourcing erstreckt sich über ein viel breiteres Spektrum und umfasst jede Arbeit oder Dienstleistung, die von Dritten für eine Organisation durchgeführt wird. Wenn eine Organisation also entscheidet, einen Projektmanager zu engagieren um ein Projekt zu verwalten, wird die Position „outgesourced“.

Make or buy?

Analog zur Entscheidung „Make or buy“, stellt sich auch beim Outsourcing die Frage, ob eine Organisation besser darin ist, mit eigenen Ressourcen Projekte zu realisieren oder stattdessen externe Ressourcen zu nutzen. Die Antwort kann nur durch die Identifizierung Ihrer individuellen Vor- und Nachteile gefunden werden, die in diesem Entscheidungsprozess berücksichtigt werden sollen.

Vorteile

Grundsätzlich bietet Ihnen Outsourcing die folgenden Vorteile:

  • ‚Sichtbare‘ Kosten: Die Zahlungen an externe Dienstleister sind immer sichtbarer und leichter an spezifische Projekte zu buchen, als Kosten, die tief in operationellen Budgets vergraben sind.
  • Sie zahlen nur für das, was Sie brauchen: Da Outsourcing in der Regel auf spezifischen Verträgen basiert, zahlen Sie nur für das, was Sie tatsächlich brauchen. Übliche Leistungen für festangestellte Mitarbeiter (Ausbildung, Urlaub, Krankheit, etc.) entfallen.
  • Zugang zu Experten und Spezialisten: Für einige Organisationen ist Outsourcing der einzige erschwingliche Zugang zu Experten und Fachspezialisten. Die Möglichkeit das benötigte Know-how nur zu nutzen, wenn es tatsächlich benötigt wird, kann sehr sparsam sein – auch wenn die Stundensätze im Vergleich mit Mitarbeitervergütungssätzen zunächst exorbitant erscheinen.
  • Bessere Rechenschaftspflicht: Der Anspruch an die Übernahme von Verantwortung für die Umsetzung eines Projektes ist bei externen Dienstleistern oftmals deutlich umfangreicher, als das, was von internen Mitarbeitern verlangt werden kann. Die Möglichkeit einen Anbieter vertraglich an eine gewisse Performance zu binden hat große Vorteile – besonders in Zeiten kurz vor Deadlines.
  • Skalierbare Belegschaft: Mit Outsourcing erhalten Sie Personal, das je nach Bedarf hochgefahren und auch wieder heruntergefahren werden kann. Dabei müssen Sie sich keine Sorgen um Entlassungen, Arbeitsverträge und ähnliches machen. Eine Vertragsbeziehung mit externen Dienstleistern kann große Gewinne ermöglichen, insbesondere für dringende und kurzfristige Projekte.

Positive Nebeneffekte

Neben den harten Fakten ergeben sich bei einem Outsourcing von Entwicklungs- oder Projektmanagementleistungen auch immer die folgenden positiven Nebeneffekte:

  • Beharrlichkeit: Externe Dienstleister sind bei der Projektarbeit darauf bedacht, konzentriert zu bleiben und die Ihnen anvertraute Arbeit in einer Art und Weise zu erledigen, für die sie bezahlt werden und für die sie eine gute Referenz erhalten.
  • Offenheit: Externe Dienstleister fühlen sich in der Regel eher verpflichtet, Risiken und Probleme zu identifizieren, die von internen Mitarbeitern auf Grund von politischen Gründen nicht angesprochen werden. Externe Dienstleister sind auf Ihre Verpflichtung gegenüber Ihrem Kunden fokussiert und daran interessiert ihn nach besten Kräften zu unterstützen.
  • Neue Ideen & breite Erfahrung: Externe Dienstleister haben in der Regel in verschiedenen Branchen und Umgebungen gearbeitet. Diese Erfahrungen können sie in ihr Projekt einbringen und mit neuen Ideen Projekte vorantreiben, für die das Unternehmen vielleicht schon Betriebsblind sein könnte.
  • Kosteneffizienz und Produktivität: Da externe Dienstleister dafür bezahlt werden, dass sie das Projekt erledigen, für das sie beauftragt wurden, neigen sie dazu, konzentriert zu bleiben und sich auf das wesentliche der Arbeit zu fokussieren, für die sie gebucht wurden. Das bedeutet, dass sie keine Zeit und Mühen auf Dinge verschwenden, die das Projekt nicht nach vorne bringen.

Wissenstransfer

Bei der Beauftragung von externen Dienstleistern sollten sich darüber hinaus Gedanken über das Thema Wissenstransfer machen. Da die Projekte nicht von fest angestellten Mitarbeitern durchgeführt werden, könnte wichtiges Wissen verloren gehen, sobald das Projekt abgeschlossen ist und die externen Dienstleister das Unternehmen verlassen. Die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse, Techniken, Architekturen, etc. sollten nach Beendigung des Projektes in Ihrem Unternehmen verbleiben, da diese auch nach der Lebensdauer des Projekts wichtig sein könnten.

Entscheidungsprozess

Hier sind drei Fragen, die Sie bei Ihrem Entscheidungsprozess für oder gegen Outsourcing berücksichtigen sollten:

  • Hat Ihre Organisation die benötigten Personalressourcen mit den richtigen Skills verfügbar um das Projekt durchzuführen? Wenn nicht, dann haben Sie die grundlegende Entscheidung zu treffen, ob Sie lieber jemanden für das Projekt zusätzlich einstellen wollen oder das Projekt auslagern.
  • Gibt es am Markt aktuell einen einfachen und ausreichenden Zugriff auf ausgebildete Mitarbeiter für eine Festanstellung, die Sie für Ihr Projekt zielgerichtet einsetzen können?
  • Gibt Ihnen der notwendige Rekrutierungsprozess (Ausschreibung, Sichtung der Profile, Vorstellungsgespräche, Kündigungszeiten, etc.) für festangestelle Mitarbeiter ausreichend Zeit, um das Projekt rechtzeitig zu beginnen?
  • Hat Ihre Organisation die finanziellen Ressourcen, um weitere Vollzeitkräfte einzustellen? Während es auf kurze Sicht teuer aussehen könnte, das Projekt an einen Dritten zu vergeben, könnte es auf lange Sicht tatsächlich weniger kosten, als weitere Vollzeit-Mitarbeiter auf der Gehaltsliste stehen zu haben. Dies gilt insbesondere, wenn Sie die Gesamtkosten einer Festanstellung (Grundgehalt, Lohnsteuer, Krankenversicherung, Urlaub, Krankheit und sonstige Leistungen) über die gesamte Lebensdauer der Anstellung berücksichtigen. Obwohl Sie zunächst mehr für einen externen Dienstleister zahlen, endet diese Ausgabe sofort mit dem Projekt.
  • Hat Ihre Organisation ein Portfolio an Projekten, die eine Verpflichtung zu Vollzeit-Mitarbeitern rechtfertigen? Falls Ihre Organisation nicht gerade zu den größten gehört, haben Sie in der Regel nur einige wenige Projekte. Darüber hinaus ist er wahrscheinlich, dass neue Projekte am effizientesten von Mitarbeitern mit spezifischen Know-how in diesem Bereich durchgeführt werden können. Dienstleister mit speziellem Know-how für spezifische Projekte zu engagieren könnte eine effiziente Variante sein, um immer die richtigen Personen für die relevanten Projekte zu haben, anstatt einen Mitarbeiterstamm von Generalisten aufrecht zu erhalten.

Tipps für erfolgreiches Outsourcing

Hier sind einige Tipps, die Sie beachten sollten, wenn Sie die Entscheidung treffen ein Projekt auszulagern:

  • Entwickeln Sie das „Statement of work“ gemeinsam mit dem Anbieter. Dies sollte gemeinschaftlich geschehen, um sicherzustellen, dass beide Parteien genau verstehen, welche Aufgaben erledigt werden sollen, die Art und Weise, wie dies getan werden muss, die Protokolle, die befolgt werden müssen, der Zeitrahmen für die Fertigstellung, etc.
  • Halten Sie Ihre Erwartungen schriftlich fest. Gehen Sie nicht davon, dass der externe Dienstleister Ihre Unternehmenskultur, Arbeitsethik und Verhaltensregeln kennt. Fixieren Sie, wo die Arbeit durchgeführt werden soll, ggf. Arbeitszeiten, Regeln für die Nutzung Ihrer Hardware und Einrichtungen usw.
  • Fordern Sie Projektdokumentation. Legen Sie fest, welche Art von Projektdokumentation während des gesamten Projekts erstellt und gepflegt werden soll. Dies kann Arbeitspläne, regelmäßige Meetings, Fortschrittsberichte, Änderungsverfolgung, usw. umfassen.
  • Überlegen Sie sich Anreize für einen vorzeitigen Abschluss des Projekts. Wenn Sie dem externen Dienstleister einen Bonus für frühzeitige Realisierung des Projekts in Aussicht stellen, fördern Sie damit Konzentration und Engagement. Typischerweise werden diese Anreize auf der Grundlage eines erhöhten Wertes oder Einsparungen durch die schnellere Fertigstellung für die Organisation bemessen. Achten Sie darauf, dass die Kriterien für die Berechtigung des Bonus innerhalb des Vertrags quantifiziert werden. Stellen Sie außerdem sicher, dass der Anreiz lukrativ genug ist, um ihn erreichen zu wollen. Basieren Sie den Bonus nicht auf einem Alles-oder-Nichts-Konzept, sondern gewichten Sie ihn auf Basis dessen, was erreicht wurde. Typischerweise ist ein Bonus von 10% der Einsparungen Ihres Unternehmens ein guter Anreiz. Ein Bonus für vorzeitige Lieferung von Leistungen kann auch auf einem zusätzlichen ROI für das Unternehmen basieren.

Fazit

Outsourcing hat seine Vor- und Nachteile. Die Entscheidung, für oder gegen Outsourcing ist nicht immer leicht zu treffen. Ohne Frage kann Outsourcing profitabel sein, wenn es richtig gemacht wird. Umsicht, die richtige Vorbereitung und kontinuierliche Prüfung sind die Eckpfeiler für Ihren Outsourcing-Erfolg.